New Vehicle: Purchaser needs to have in their possession acceptable forms of ID , proof of residency, (MSO) Manufacturer Statement Origin, completed by dealer and purchaser. Also, need bill of sale stating tax collected and lien holder (if any). If vehicle is purchased out of state and sales tax is lower than TN, then the difference will be collected at time of registration.
Used: Purchaser should have title in their possession with the buyer and seller's signature. Odometer is required for vehicles ten years or newer. Tax will be collected at time of registration unless dealer collected tax. Selling price of vehicle has to be 75% of book value. Low selling price will delay process of issuing title. Form SF1301201 can be used for low selling price or (not of) gift. Do not purchase vehicle if seller's signature does not match the name on the front of the title. If lien appears on front of title, make sure it has been released before purchase. If lien needs to be noted on either new or used, make sure full name and address is properly noted.
Moving to Tennessee: Owner needs title from previous state, or if still paying on vehicle, owner needs current registration and full name and address of lien holder, acceptable forms of ID, proof of residency and proof of emissions testing. Cost of transferring out of state title and to obtain plate and registration is $60.00.
Replacement of Lost Tennessee Title: Tennessee title is the only title that may be replaced. No out of state titles. To obtain a replacement title, this form has to be completed and signed by registered owner. Owner must present I.D. and pay $11.00.
Noting of Lien: Must be Tennessee title. In order to note lien, form SF0943 has to be completed and signed by registered owner. Must have TN title and a security agreement between the lender and borrower. Noting of lien: $11.00.
Multiple Owners: Only one signature is required on title if registered to two or more and is joined by "OR". If joined by "AND", both signatures are required.
Selling of Vehicle: Registered owner of vehicle signs his/her name as signature of seller. Individual obtaining ownership of vehicle signs their name as buyer with complete address. Seller should never sign title without completing buyer portion; this is known as an open title. This could result into penalties to seller.
Handicap: Handicap individual must have the Disabled Driver Application completed by physician to obtain plates or placard. If purchasing plate, the individual has to be a registered handicap person. Handicap license plates: $49.00. If permanently confined to wheel chair, license plate is free. If handicap individual obtains plates, the placard is free. If no plate is purchased, placard is $21.50, renewable every two years for $3.
Renewals: The price for regular plates is $49.00/year. The price for regular personalized or cultural plates is $85.00/year. The price for personalized cultural or specialty plates is $120.00/year. Please add $2.00 postage & handling when renewing by mail.
Acceptable forms of payment- Cash, Check, Debit, Visa, and Mastercard. 2% plus $.25 added to credit and debit card transactions.
Organ Donor Awareness Fund - Click Here to go to Organ Donor Web Site.
The Tennessee County Clerks give you the opportunity to donate to the Tennessee Organ Donor Awareness Fund when you title, register or renew your vehicle. Your $1.00 donation helps the foundation better educate the public of donor options.
Vehicle Inspection Program for Wilson County
Williamson County Station
Franklin - 1005 Merylinger Court
(off Cool Springs Boulevard via McEwen Drive, behind Gateway Tire)
Hours: 7am - 6pm Monday and Tuesday, 7am-5pm Wednesday through Friday, 8am-1pm Saturday (new hours)
Wilson County Station
Lebanon - 810 Tennessee Blvd.
(just east of the bypass, next to the Fairgrounds)
Hours: 7am-6pm Monday and Tuesday, 7am-5pm Wednesday through Friday, 8am-1pm Saturday
Mobile Testing Schedules - Hours of operation and location
Fairview, Mt. Juliet, Portland, Westmoreland, White House